Twigs at the Window Etching

This is another soft-ground etching, without any hard ground involved. As well as the etching ink being rubbed into the plate and scrimmed off, a thin layer of relief ink has been rolled across it before printing. It does mean each print is different from another, more so than usual, I think. I’ve just been working on another plate using a similar technique that I will post soon.

Twigs at the Window

Twigs at the Window, Soft Ground Etching

I don’t think the subtle variation of colour is quite fully represented in this photograph. I’m still working out the best light to take pictures of my work.

On another note some of my work will be available to buy from the Leeds Craft Centre & Design Gallery from next Spring. I’m very happy as I like the gallery very much and have purchased from there myself in the past.

Leave a Reply

