Twilight, or something

I’m drawn to twilight, or something like it, as a theme. Not that I always view the subjects at that time, or draw/snap them with my iPhone, then. It’s when I come to paint them that night seems to creep in. It’s not an observed twilight, more an idea of twilight. I suppose it’s one of the elements of mystery I try to evoke.

This is Edinburgh again, and the sun has left the sky. (If it was ever there.)

I think there’s a bit of the gothic and northern romantic in some of my work. Which is quite appropriate when you’re painting somewhere like Edinburgh. However, I’ve recently been working on a piece based on desert-hot Calasparra in Southern Spain. Approaching that subject was interesting, but familiar elements are present. I’ll post a pic of it soon.

Leave a Reply

