More Edinburgh Paintings

Two more paintings based on Edinburgh from a few days we spent there in February. It’s the second time I’ve been, still not really warmed to the place, but it is architecturally very striking. And there are lots of trees lined roads! These paintings were all inspired by views from the Royal Terrace, on which we were staying (so I’m reliably informed by someone with a better memory).

With these paintings of Edinburgh I’ve started developing a more broad, abstract way of evoking buildings in the background. The ones I did before this of Amsterdam and around here, in Holmfirth, were more literal and less…. maybe exciting, not sure. I also prefer the way these paintings imagine the whole city as a solid mass.

The second one reminds me of Soutine, although I haven’t thought of him since I was a student, until now.

Leave a Reply

