Suburban Still Life, Painting

Since Christmas I’ve been mainly painting and drawing, gathering plenty of material for an approaching binge of printmaking. I’ve worked in watercolour and gouache, developing ideas and moved onto oil/acrylics. This painting is based on a group of buildings up t’ road from where I live. I like the arrangement; it has the quiet, balanced quality of a Morandi ┬ástill life. Well, I like to think so anyway.

suburbanstillife

Suburban Still Life, Oil on Canvas

I’m trying out a lighter, thinner painting style. I think partly inspired by studying Egon Schiele’s wonderfully expressive streaky oils. I’ve also been looking at many contemporary painters using oil such as Peter Doig and Mamma Andersson. ┬áThe result probably has little obvious similarity with these artists but that’s often how influences work.

Leave a Reply

